Things I Plan to Do in 2016

I have a list of things I intend to do in the upcoming new year. First of all, I’m not looking at this as a “New Year’s Resolution.” I’m seeing it as a year-long to-do list. Because we all know what happens when you try to make a New Year’s Resolution.

Funny-new-years-resolutions-someecards

Second of all, I understand that I won’t be able to do everything on this list. To expect this whole list to be completed by December 31, 2016 would be preposterous. I will try to do as much of this as I can. There are some things on this list that I feel pretty confident about completing. Others, not so much. I have a question mark next to those items on this list that I am unsure if I can complete or not.

Develop a regular sleeping pattern. I have the sleeping habits of a teenager. Although I’ve gotten better at going to bed at the same time every night (save for tonight…duh, it’s New Year’s Eve) I have a nasty habit of sleeping in when I don’t have to get anywhere. It’s not healthy to sleep for eleven hours on weekends and holidays. I just end up being more tired when I have to wake up early for school.

Join a networking website for autistic people. This one is self-explanatory. There is a website for autistic people, where I could help fellow Aspies by sharing my experience and insight.

Finish coloring book and bookmarks. 

9780762458813

Before you judge me for being an adult who colors, there have been studies showing that coloring is actually calming and therapeutic. I have a set of bookmarks that can be colored as well.

Write a letter to myself. I have always been way too hard on myself, and I owe myself an apology.

Make a Facebook page. 

Funny-Picture-Quotes-To-Share-On-Facebook-8-600x379

I’m planning on using my page to help people who are autistic, or maybe for anti-discrimination in general.

Have a conversation with some of my favorite Youtube channels.

d507f_youtube

To clear things up, I don’t post videos on Youtube. I only use my account to post comments (only nice comments, unlike many other commentators on Youtube.) However, since there are many great channels that I follow, I might give them some requests for video ideas.

Finish Nintendogs + Cats. 

White_husky

As I’ve said before: Please don’t judge me. I have a life. I go to school. I have friends. I have a boyfriend. This blog post was NOT written by the fat guy who kept killing everyone in the South Park episode “Make Love, Not Warcraft.”

Celebrate the removal of my braces (when it happens.) Some time this year, I should be getting my braces taken off. I’ll probably celebrate by: going to Hershey Park with my boyfriend OR going to Friendly’s and having ice cream with gummy bears in it.

Make a “Life Rule” book. Although I may be a young woman, I have learned much. It might be fun to make a “rule book” of all the things I have learned. Whenever I find a new philosophical jewel, I can add it.

Start writing for the newsletter at my college? I wrote for the school newsletter in high school. I enjoyed it, and even graduated with an award for my monthly column. However, it may be hard to get into the writing business in college, because it could be competitive, and there are lots of old-time writers in a high position to defend their place against newbies.

Start an Autism Education Club (or Philanthropy Club) at CCC? 

220px-Autism_spectrum_infinity_awareness_symbol.svg

Even relatives of autistic children are given lots of misinformation. Conversely, I could also start a Philanthropy Club, which may look better on my resume.

Declare a major? I have been undecided for the last few years, mainly because of a special training program I joined that limited my choice of courses. I am now out of that program and free to do whatever I want. I have my sights set on a particular program, but they can be selective.

Get a summer job?

 Job

I’m not so stupid as to fail to understand how hard it is to get a job. Conversely, I could volunteer somewhere for the summer.

Get a new pet? NOT a dog or a cat, but something small. You know, something that won’t take up a lot of space. In all honesty, since I left that special program I was talking about earlier and haven’t seen some of my friends, I have been a little lonely. Also, during the summer, one of our dogs passed away.

Replace lost games? There are a couple of DS games I loved playing, but stopped working on me. For the last time, PLEASE don’t judge me.Careful novel

Sure, being a writer is fun, but writing a novel is a little bit like boarding a sailboat in Australia and taking the long way (past Europe) to South America. Not to mention the editing process.

If you didn’t find inspiration on this list, here’s one more option for you:

New-Year-funny-2015

Duly noted, yellow-haired plastic people.

 

Leave a Reply

